Cultural awareness competence

‘Cultural awareness and expression’ is one of the eight key competences that form the reference tool which EU Member States to be integrate into strategies and infrastructure in the context of lifelong learning.

The other key competences are:

1) Communication in the mother tongue,

2) Communication in foreign languages,

3) Mathematical competence and basic competences in science and technology,

4) Digital competence,

5) Learning to learn,

6) Social and civic competences and

7) Sense of initiative and entrepreneurship.

Training in the key competences – in the shape of knowledge, skills and attitudes – is seen as fundamental for each individual in 21st century society. The interdependency and transversal nature of all eight key competences should be underlined.

Cultural awareness has a strong impact on our ability to learn social, civic and intercultural competences, as well as on our sense of initiative and entrepreneurship. The development of these competences is indeed strongly interrelated and interdependent.

Our learners say for Cultural awareness and expression

· We learnt about diversity of cultural expression

· We acquired knowledge of local and national, cultures and expressions, including their languages, heritage and traditions, and cultural products